National Poetry Month

Posted on April 4, 2012

2


My short fiction professor told us that April is National Poetry Month. I can’t believe I didn’t know since I LOVE POETRY!! In fact, I used to think that I began as a poet until I remembered that when I was in grade school I wrote fiction. If I could find those composition notebooks that held the 10-year-old streams of consciousness…. I remember one of my stories was called “Going Out.” It was a coming of age tale, with lots of “who likes who” and first kisses and such– heavy stuff for a 10-year-old. “Baby-Sitter’s Club” and “Sweet Valley High” style. Sort of.

In high school I really poured on the poetry steam. I was writing all the time and in what seemed like a few short years I had amassed notebooks and journals full of poetry. And then one of my best friends died, cancer. I didn’t write again for a long time. But because writing is part of my inherent nature, I couldn’t write absolutely nothing, it was probably something like 2 or 3 times a year for a few years. But I’m back in it (almost like I never left) and I’ve added short fiction into my writing mix again. This is so exciting because I feel like myself.

I’m going to try a poem a week this month. I feel like I could do more, but I think I need to set this bar realistically. Grad school is quite time consuming and labor intensive. I’m grateful for the opportunity to become proficient in professional writing and hope to share some original poetry with you this month.

Tagged:
Posted in: Uncategorized